Using fancyurl on 3.70

If you're having questions about some aspect of Nucleus, use this forum.
being_new
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2016 7:17 pm

Using fancyurl on 3.70

Postby being_new » Mon May 09, 2016 5:04 pm

Hello,
After installing Nucleus 3.70 and publishing several articles, finding them being published properly I inteneded to activate a sitemap for the search engines. I learned that I'll need fancyurl for that purpose. So I lodad up and modified the files according to
http://www.nucleuscms.de/nucleus/docume ... -fancyurls and acticated fancyurls in the admin section.
The blog shows article-URLs in the format http://myurl.com/item/nn (nn being an integer according to the article), but pulling up such an URL results in a not-found-error:
"The requested URL /item/16 was not found on this server.
Additionally, a 404 Not Found error was encountered while trying to use an ErrorDocument to handle the request."
Thus there are two errors which I both want to mend:
(1) the URL-"translation" from http://myurl.com/item/nn back to http://myurl.com/?itemid=nn (as this works perfectly!) (- or whatever needs to be done that the proper pages are being pulled up) and
(2) the 404 Error document not found

I'll be grateful for every hint and help in getting this worked out!
Sincere thanks,
Helmut

Addendum: Just might add one more question that I haven't found a solution yet:
The blog shows meta-data for earch engine like this (source text) (i.e. "description" has empty content field):

Code: Select all

<!-- meta information for search engines -->
<meta name="generator" content="Nucleus CMS v3.70" />
<meta name="description" content="" />

... and same for each item page.
Where and how can I add individual descriptions fro the blog's homepage as well as each item-page?
Thanks a lot opnce mor for any help I will get!
Helmut
User avatar
Imajica
Posts: 129
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 11:52 pm
Location: Racine WI USA
Contact:

Using fancyurl on 3.70

Postby Imajica » Wed May 11, 2016 2:55 am

Helmut:
I seem to remember an issue with php and that plugin version.
I switched to fancierurl from Leo
http://nucleus.slightlysome.net/plugins/lmfancierurl
being_new
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2016 7:17 pm

Using fancyurl on 3.70

Postby being_new » Mon Apr 24, 2017 5:08 pm

Hello Imajca, thank you for your input ... though it's been while since.
After trying various things I came back to your suggestion and installed lmfancierUrls as given on http://nucleus.slightlysome.net/plugins/lmfancierurl - and failed, getting getting an error-message when selecting "install fancierlURL" from the plugins-admin page.
"Fatal error: Call-time pass-by-reference has been removed in /home/path/to/admin/plugins/NP_LMFancierURL.php on line 1465" - but that's been not all!
Now I don't see ANY of my installed plugins, except "SkinFiles" (which is installed but I've never experimented with it or used it). It looks to me as if the "old" error message (from this one-time install-trial) blocks the entire plugin's module ... but the CMS seems to be working ok. Couldn't find yet how I get back the plugins-admin page.
Kindly,
Helmut
PS: By simply renaming ("unabling") NP_LMFancierURL.php to "-NP_LMFancierURL.php" I get all my plugins back. So I understand that the error is "permanent" as long as NP_LMFancierURL.php ist installed.
User avatar
dis
Posts: 209
Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2002 3:56 am

Using fancyurl on 3.70

Postby dis » Tue Apr 25, 2017 2:42 am

Hmm, I think I remember the Call time pass by reference issue as being a php version problem. Could be the code just needs some updating for a newer version of PHP. You could try posting on Leo's forum in the plugins section to let him it it's giving errors?
User avatar
slightlysome
Posts: 213
Joined: Thu Feb 24, 2011 1:33 am
Contact:

Using fancyurl on 3.70

Postby slightlysome » Thu May 11, 2017 12:28 am

What version of PHP are you using?
- Leo -
LMNucleus CMS home page: nucleus.slightlysome.net
My Nucleus powered blogs: www.slightlysome.net - www.tswtraveler.com
My Nucleus plugins.
being_new
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2016 7:17 pm

Using fancyurl on 3.70

Postby being_new » Mon May 15, 2017 9:15 am

Sorry, Leo for being so late - haven't check back lately.
I'm using:
PHP Version 5.6.30
MySQL Version 5.5.51-38.2 (5.5.51-38.2)
(data provided by Nucleus Admin page "configuration")
Kindly,
Helmut

Return to “General Questions”